Star Trek, Wolverine, Holiday Inn and Our Body …

Lots of action this week. It started with two photocalls, one for the new Star Trek movie and the other for X Men: Wolverine.

Star Trek Photocall - Spock (Zachary Quinto) and Kirk (Chris Pine)

Star Trek Photocall - Spock (Zachary Quinto) and Kirk (Chris Pine)

The Star Trek shoot was pretty boring but the Wolverine one was fun, partly because of the location and partly because of the excitement generated by Hugh Jackman. The shoot took place at the Place du Trocadero, across from Eiffel Tower, which provided a pretty entertaining background. The public was swarming around the shoot.

X-Men Origins: Wolverine Photocall

The real enjoyment for me came from listening to the French photographers yelling Hugh’s name and pronouncing it “Euuuwwwh”. The first time I heard this was at a Hugh Grant shoot, where he seriously laughed at the “Euuuwing” going on.

The freakiest part of the week was an exhibition that I shot called “Our Body”.  It’s been touring around the world but if you haven’t heard about it, the exhibition displays real plasticized corpses, in full, cross-sectioned and detailed forms.

"Our Body" Exhibition

"Our Body" Exhibition

The exhibition has faced controversy (aside from scaring children) with accusations that the corpses it uses came from prisoners in Chinese labor camps.  I found it quite cool, especially the cross-sections of the body where you can really see how parts fit together.

To see more freaky images from the exhibition, CLICK HERE.

For the first time, I assisted another photographer shooting a hotel in Paris. It’s not the most exciting work but I’d bet you’d be surprised how much it takes to properly light and shoot a hotel and how much they pay photographers to do it!

Holiday Inn Express Shoot

Hotel Shoot

And finally, I picked up my large prints I’ll be using for my exhibition. I was really happy how beautiful they look blown up to about 3 feet wide. I’m so used to just seeing images on my computer screen that I’d almost forgotten how much detail and color come alive in a good print. The vernissage (opening) for my exhibition is this Thursday.

Some photos of the week …

Colorful Cafe in Montmartre

Colorful Cafe in Montmartre

Tamil Protest at Trocadero

Tamil Protest at Trocadero

Cherry Blossoms at Notre Dame

Cherry Blossoms at Notre Dame

Playing Frisbee Near the Canal

Playing Frisbee Near the Canal

X-Men Origins: Wolverine Photocall

"Our Body" Exhibition

"Our Body" Exhibition

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Second Baseman on April 19, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    Wish I could come to see your new exhibit, good luck on Thursday….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

