My Exhibition, Ben Harper, My New Gym and the Luxembourg Gardens …

This week saw the opening of my third Paris photo exhibition. It was a modest vernissage (opening) with more champagne and visitors than I expected. I managed to actually enjoy the night even more than my first two Paris exhibitions.

Early Arrivals at My Exhibition

Early Arrivals at My Exhibition

Having some experience really helped me not go through the anxiety and insecurity that surprised me when I did my first exhibitions a few years ago. The semi-private event was held at an office of an international accountancy firm that specializes in the arts. That is, most of their clients are artists in film, music, etc.  Every three months the firm selects local artists to exhibit their work in one of the firm’s offices and invites all their clients to come to the opening … and hopefully buy some of the work!

To see some images of the event, CLICK HERE.

Here are two short videos from the exhibition:

VIDEO #1
VIDEO #2

This week I got to photograph Ben Harper performing in concert with his new band at a very small venue.  Harper is known in the US but he’s much more popular here in France.

Ben Harper Performs With His New Band Relentless7

Ben Harper Performs With His New Band Relentless7

His last tour in Paris he played three consecutive sold out nights at a 15,000+ arena … and probably could have sold out even more shows.  This time around, he played at La Cigale, a venue that holds just over 1,000 people but looks even smaller.  I wasn’t so impressed with the three songs that I heard before having to leave but others who were at the concert told me he put on a great show.  He usually does.

For the first time since I’ve been in Paris, I joined a gym here.  This surely will be a topic for many future blog entries but I’ll start with my initial observations.  My new gym is great, despite the fact that it costs about 3.5 times what it would in the US.  It’s about a 4-minute walk from my place so I plan on getting my money’s worth from it.  It’s only 1 year old and they have the latest equipment and more importantly, it’s all kept sparkling clean.

Upstairs at My Gym (I haven't dared take many photos in there yet)

Upstairs at My Gym (I haven't dared take many photos in there yet)

But of course, what’s most interesting to me are the cultural oddities and differences that are readily apparent.   I’ve worked out for many years but this week was the first time in a gym that I saw:

* two straight men greet each with a kiss on each cheek; of course this isn’t so uncommon here but just looked a bit more out of place in a gym
* a “general bonjour”; this is when someone enters the gym and gives a “bonjour” to no one in particular; sort of a general “hi” to fellow gym rats
* tangerine dolphin shorts hiked up past the point of my comfort level; on both men and women
* almost no overweight people; and no one that looks like they just got out of or are about to go to prison
* kilos on the weights
* free DVD rentals

But my favorite of all is the calculator man.  There is a 30-ish year old guy who I’ve seen 3 times this week who does a set of bicep curls, puts down the weights, picks up a paperback book (which is a novel, not a science or math book), takes out a big, old-school calculator, spends 10 to 15 seconds calculating something, and writes down whatever he calculated in the margins of the book.  He then sets the book down and repeats the pattern.  I’ve watched him do this for at least 45 minutes 3 different days this week.  I am trying to formulate a theory as to what the hell this guy is doing.  I’m guessing if he continues doing it for the next couple of weeks, I’ll just straight up ask him.

And finally, with the spectacular weather this week, I was reminded what a beautiful place the Luxembourg Gardens is just to pass some time.

Luxembourg Gardens in Spring

Luxembourg Gardens in Spring

Some photos of the week …

My Favorite French Weatherman

My Favorite French Weatherman

Pussy on Rue St Denis

Pussy on Rue St Denis

Ben Harper Performs With His New Band Relentless7

Ben Harper Performs With His New Band Relentless7

Girl On Railing - Luxembourg Gardens

Girl On Railing - Luxembourg Gardens

Girl Getting Ice Cream - Luxembourg Gardens

Girl Getting Ice Cream - Luxembourg Gardens

Cupcakes Arrive in Paris

Cupcakes Arrive in Paris

My Crazy Neighbor Who Likes To Exercise Nude

My Crazy Neighbor Who Likes To Exercise Nude

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Second Baseman on April 26, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    At your next Exhibition I suggest that because of the poor world economy, you cut out some of the frills….

    Reply

  2. Posted by Tammi on April 27, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Congratulations on your exhibit and I say MORE champagne next time. Viva la France! Also, why did you join the gym when you clearly have a great potential workout partner living right next door to you?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

