Fondue, Monokini, Blood Panel & Town Names

Discovered a new gem of a store that just opened around the corner from my apartment. It’s called Des Fondues au Chocolat and it mercifully just replaced a grotesque handbag store that had been slowing dying. I stopped in this new store and the owner explained to me the twist he’s come up with.

Fondue Cart on Boulevard Saint-Germain

Fondue Cart on Boulevard Saint-Germain

He makes premium quality melting chocolate in many combinations (with coconut, vanilla, mandarine, etc.) and puts it in specially made ceramic mugs. When you’re ready for your chocolate fondue, you put these mugs in boiling water for 15 minutes and, due to the type of ceramic he uses, these mugs keep the chocolate at a perfect dipping temperature without any using any flame or special fondue equipment. And the quality of the chocolate is outrageously good.

Chocolate Fondues

Chocolate Fondues

One bad point … after being open for just one week, and getting me all excited after trying a chocolate/vanilla fondue, the owner decided to close the store for his 1-month summer vacation. Vive la France.

Some terrible news this week … the death of the monokini. It seems that French women are refraining from topless sunbathing more and more these days. To read about it, CLICK HERE.

Went for my periodic doctor checkup recently and decided that I would do it in France this time around since last time my lab work alone at UCLA cost me over $400 for the basic stuff. Did a full blood panel with all the normal stuff, including cholesterol, thyroid and things I can’t remember right now. The price of all these tests? 60 euros, which is about $85. The process went like this: called my doctor and he saw me the next day; waited 5 minutes to see him so didn’t have enough time to try out the piano he had in his small waiting room; he gave me a slip of paper saying what lab work I needed and the next day I went to a local lab and they took my blood. The following day I had the results. It was that simple and quick. Made me wonder AGAIN why our health care system works the way it does.

This has nothing to do with France but I came across a list of peculiar U.S. town names and thought I’d share a few:
Hopeulikit, Georgia
Knockemstiff, Ohio
Cut and Shoot, Texas
Jot ‘Em Down, Texas
Rough And Ready, California
Spunky Puddle, Ohio
Bug Tussle, Oklahoma
Burns Down, South Carolina
Humptulips, Washington
Hooker Hole, Louisiana
Horneytown, North Carolina
Sweet Lips, Tennessee
Bird in Hand, Pennsylvania
Dicktown, New Jersey
New Erection, Virginia
Dickshooter, Idaho

A few photos of the week:

Bird's Eye View

Bird's Eye View

Skinny Business

Skinny Business

Leave a Reply

