Deauville, LeBron & Baby Birds …

Spent the week up in the familiar town of Deauville, along the NW coast of France in Normandie shooting the annual American Film Festival that is held there. It’s a pretty low key event for a film festival – nothing at all like Cannes or the other larger festivals. The guest of honor this year was Harrison Ford.

Harrison Ford in Deauville

Harrison Ford in Deauville

When I saw him I realized that, at age 67, he was still Harrison Ford but was no longer Indiana Jones. Others at the festival included Meryl Streep, Robin Wright Penn, Andy Garcia, Stanley Tucci, Matthew Broderick, Mira Sorvino and of course, Bobcat Goldthwait (who I believe I was the only one at the festival who knew who he was!). It was a week of perfect weather and pretty good working conditions. Hard to complain …

Robin Wright Penn in Deauville

Robin Wright Penn in Deauville

To watch a video of my images from the Deauville Film Festival, CLICK HERE. {note: there is music with the video}

Back in Paris, I photographed an appearance by NBA star LeBron James along the Champs-Elysees. It’s always odd seeing guys like this in Paris, especially in a setting along this boulevard. They always seem so out of place here.

LeBron James in Paris

LeBron James in Paris

A chapter (ok, maybe a sub-subchapter) of my life closed this week with the departure of some baby birds who were born just outside my apartment. About 4 weeks ago I noticed some baby pigeons in a nest a few inches outside a small window in my bathroom.

Baby Birds Outside My Bathroom Window - Early Days

Baby Birds Outside My Bathroom Window - Early Days

I gave them a small bowl of water and they agreed that when the mother bird was away, I could slowly open the window and watch them for a while. They even allowed me to snap a few photos of them during their first 30 days on earth. Well, this week my little birdies grew up and flew away, giving me a taste of what it must be like to be an “empty-nester”. 😉

Baby Birds Outside My Bathroom Window - Updated

Baby Birds Outside My Bathroom Window - Updated

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by The Second Baseman on September 14, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    Great shot of LeBron, I am sure he would like to have a copy….Sorry about your birds leaving home…Sort of like when your kids grow up and they “Flew the Coup” so to say…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

