Rome Film Fest, Supercross, Halloween and a new King …

I’ve been traveling and been a bit lazy lately so it’s time to catch up on a couple of missed blog entries. The big event over the last couple of weeks was covering the Rome International Film Festival. I’m not sure how respected the festival is by real film lovers but they get some stars there and always show everyone a good time.

George and Elisabetta

George and Elisabetta

This year’s festival was particularly special for me. A childhood friend, Michael Stuhlbarg, who stars in the new Coen Brother’s movie “A Serious Man”, was at the festival and we re-connected and had a wonderful time touring Rome, catching up and marveling at the most unlikely of events that brought both of our paths from Long Beach to Rome.

Michael Stuhlbarg & the Coen Brothers

Michael Stuhlbarg & the Coen Brothers

And of course photographing one of my friends on the red carpet with the Coen brothers bordered on surreal. After the red carpet, Michael invited me to join him for a drink and I had the pleasure to drink some good wine and chat with the Coen brothers as well as Frances McDormand (who’s married to Joel Coen).

Through more total coincidence, I had another friend of mine who played in a new Italian movie that was in competition at the festival. Her name is Anita Kravos and she’s a lovely, kind Slovenian-Italian actress.

Anita Kravos

Anita Kravos

It was the first red carpet for Anita and we had loads of fun laughing while she walked on the carpet and focused on me while I was trying to focus on her. Some of my photos of her are a bit blurry because I was laughing so much! Anita ended up winning an award for best Italian actress at the festival, just to add a cherry on top.

Despite now having to spend more time at the gym after my week there, I’m still totally in love with Italy. The people, the food, the sun, etc. If anything worked properly there, I might even be able to live there one day.

To see a video of images from the festival, CLICK HERE. (reminder: there is sound with the video)

Completely changing gears (!), I shot the Paris Supercross held this week. I think I enjoy this event because if there is one thing that I cannot associate with Paris it’s supercross.

Paris Supercross

Paris Supercross

And yet, fans pack the Bercy arena and behave like morons, notably bringing chainsaws (thankfully without the blade) to rev and make the maximum amount of noise possible in the arena. It was awfully hard to tell which people were dressed for supercross and which were dressed for Halloween.

Speaking of which, although it’s not a big deal here in Paris, Halloween still has its followers. I saw a considerable amount of tomfoolery on the streets of the 5th arrondissement last night. My favorite was probably these two on the line 4 metro.

Halloween on the Metro

Halloween on the Metro

And finally, I was struck (and saddened) by this news story this week.

Jay-Z breaks Elvis album record

Jay-Z is set to score his 11th American number one album, overtaking Elvis Presley as the solo artist with the most chart-toppers in US chart history. The rap star’s new album Blueprint 3 is on course to top the Billboard 200 chart, taking him past Elvis’s record of 10 number ones.

Some photos of the week:

Michael Stuhlbarg

Michael Stuhlbarg

Paris Supercross

Paris Supercross

Paris Supercross Cheerleaders

Paris Supercross Cheerleaders

Puking Pumpkin

Puking Pumpkin (not my photo)

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by The Second Baseman on November 1, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    Great shots as always…Nice to see Michael and glad he is doing so well…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

