Oscar Announcements, Starbucks Experience, Picnic Protest and F&J …

Woke up at the ridiculous time of 3:30am to photograph the announcement of this year’s Oscar nominations at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in Beverly Hills.

Anne Hathaway and Academy President Tom Sherak announce the 2010 Oscar nominations

The most impressive part of the event was of course the magnitude of the media coverage. It was an odd site to see press members from all over the world streaming into the Academy from the otherwise empty sidewalks of Beverly Hills at that hour.

The breakfast spread offered to all those in attendance was impressive, maybe because they were guilt-ridden making all of us get up so early. The fresh bagels took a little of the sting out. After about an hour and half of waiting around the event took less than 6 minutes unfold.

Media Breakfast

I headed to a nearby Starbucks to wake up and send my photos. I walked in as the doors opened at 6am. While the internet connection was quite good, it was a challenge to edit photos while a couple sitting just to the right of me were loudly debating which one of them knew more about what Jesus wanted them to do and a homeless man outside the store kept screaming at me and occasionally tapping the glass right in front of me.

A new and I think very creative form of French protest is starting to be seen in France. A group called “L’Appel et la Pioche” (The call and the pick axe) has started organizing picnics … INSIDE supermarkets. The group organizes flash protests against global capitalism, rampant consumerism, bank bail-outs, poor housing, expensive food, profit margins and pretty much everything else that is wrong in the world. Protesters start the picnic by taking whatever they want from the shelves of the market then invite shoppers to join them. These “supermarket picnics” go on for as long as they can – before the security guards throw them out or the police arrive (which can be quite a while). I will be on the lookout for the next protest because I think it would be a blast to photograph one of them.

And finally, one thing I learned this week that I was surprised I didn’t know and I thought was interesting. Look at the F and the J key on your computer keyboard. You should see a little raised line at the bottom of both of those keys. Know what it’s for? For those people who can type without looking (and I guess also for blind people), these markers tell you where the starting position is on your keyboard.

Just one photo of the week:

Tomatoes

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tracey Lelah on February 8, 2010 at 12:13 am

    I definitely had my laugh for the day! Wanted to take those tomatoes right out of my screen & pop em in my mouth like popcorn.
    Txoxox

    Reply

  2. Posted by Steve S on February 10, 2010 at 9:38 am

    Oscar picks? What do the French think about Avatar? Do they go for the eco-anti-establishment message, or do they hate it as another American cultural invasion?

    Reply

    • Posted by parisweekly on February 10, 2010 at 3:56 pm

      It seems they’ve gone for it in a pretty big way … unlikely for the obvious, simplistic message but more likely (like me) for the visual effects. But that’s just my guess …

      Reply

Leave a Reply

