Wayfarers Chapel, Terranea, Arrival Form and I’m Out …

Did a little exploring in Rancho Palos Verdes this weekend and I couldn’t have had better weather for it. For having lived in the Los Angeles and Long Beach area for so many years, I’ve rarely visited this peninsula about halfway between both cities; I can’t remember going there since Marineland closed, which was 1987. Apart from the beautiful homes and impressive Trump golf course, the highlights for me were the Wayfarers Chapel and the Terranea Resort.

Wayfarers Chapel

The Wayfarers Chapel, also called the Glass Church, is located up on a hill overlooking the Rancho Palos Verdes coastline. It is part of the Swedenborgian Church (I had never heard of that) and the glass and wood chapel was designed by Lloyd Wright (Frank’s son) in the late 1940’s. The place looks pretty ideal for a wedding and the woman working there told me that they usually have 6 weddings a day on the weekends, basically 1 every 2 hours. The grounds around the chapel were really calm and inviting. If you’re in the neighborhood, I think it’s worth a visit.

Wedding at Wayfarers Chapel

Next stop was the luxurious but not too overdone Terranea Resort, which took over the beautiful chunk of land where Marineland used to be. They chose a primo spot and from what I could see, did a great job developing it. I sat out on the sunny terrace overlooking the ocean and took in some sun and lemonade. I will be going back to this place more often when I’m here; it’s so relaxing compared to the mayhem often surrounding other luxurious spaces in LA. And I don’t think you can beat the view anywhere in Southern California.

Terranea Resort

Here’s a little tidbit that most Americans would have never seen before. There is a form that non-resident visitors to the US have to fill in upon arriving in the country and it is unthinkably ridiculous. On the front side, it asks foreigners visiting the country the normal kinds of customs/immigration questions; but on the backside, well, have a look …

Non-Immigrant Visa Waiver Arrival Form

I only learned about this form when the French girl sitting next to me on the airplane coming here asked me what “moral turpitude” was. I couldn’t exactly answer her and told her that even if I knew what it was, no one other than a lawyer has used that term in the last 50 years. I was stunned at the stupidity (what scenario would someone answer “yes” to any of these?) and uselessness of the form the further I read it. The icing on the cake was the question asking if someone had some kind of involvement with Nazi Germany. Try to imagine what sort of impression these questions might have on visitors to the U.S.

I’m heading back to Paris this week so the next blog entry will be from the land of great bread, cheap wine and public bicycles …

Some photos of the week …

Orange-Eyed Owl

Bride at Wayfarers Chapel

Old Montgomery Ward building - Huntington Beach

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Steve Sereboff on March 30, 2010 at 7:36 am

    That ridiculous form has been around for a long time (why else would they ask if you were a Nazi?). I don’t think the government expects anyone to answer any question “Yes”. Rather, a failure to truthfully answer is itself probably a crime, and it is easier to convict someone for a failure to disclose than to prove they committed the underlying act. The logic is rather Orwellian and it works quite well. Just ask Martha Stewart, who was convicted on a similar basis.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

