Rome, Prince, Chocolate, Bois de Boulogne & Bouncing Baby …

It was a good week because I got to go to my favorite country in the world … Italy. Spent a short week in Rome shooting their international film festival, smiling a lot, eating extremely well and experiencing two strikes in one day. My adventure started when leaving Paris; another big strike was called for the day of my departure and despite the fact that the flight before and after mine got canceled, mine made it out only about 1.5 hours late, not so bad all things considered.

Eva Mendes on the red carpet - Rome



Checked into my apartment (more on that later) and made it over to the Auditorium where the festival was getting ready for opening night. We were all in place when all of a sudden a wave of people – film industry workers – flooded the red carpet. They were protesting government cuts in the arts and cinema budget and they were, for some reason, determined to shut down the festival. Hundreds of protesters staged a sit-in and prevented Eva Mendes and Keira Knightley from walking down the red carpet. Actually made for more interesting photos.

Demonstrators on the red carpet - Rome



Another memorable part of my stay in Rome was, believe it or not, the shower in the apartment I rented. Never seen anything like it in my life. While I was standing in it, my body actually made contact with all 4 sides of the shower. I quite literally could not lift my arms off the sides of my body. I devised a system where I showered with both door entirely open; it was a bit like camping.

Showerette



One more thing I experienced in Rome … a random sighting of Prince. I had just finished eating lunch on Via della Vite near the Spanish Steps when I noticed a photographer that I knew from the film festival suspiciously standing outside of a hair salon. I asked him what he was waiting for and he told me Prince was getting his haircut inside. And just about at that moment, Prince came strutting out of the salon, very well coiffed. He evidently was in town doing a concert that night.

To see more images of Rome and the film festival, CLICK HERE.

The annual Salon du Chocolat, the world’s largest chocolate get together took place in Paris last week. They put on a big catwalk show with moderately-known French celebrities parading around in designer outfits made primarily of chocolate. Best part? Lots of free samples.

Chocolate skirt and fan



Took advantage of an unseasonably warm day and strolled with M through the Bois de Boulogne, one of Paris’ lungs. It was midweek and there weren’t many people around and it was really like getting away from the big city. We also went to see the leaves on and off the trees changing colors, which, although nothing quite like Maine or Vermont, is usually a beautiful site around here. And of course it was.

Fall - Bois de Boulogne



And finally, an almost unbelievable event transpired in Paris this week. A doctor was out walking with his son when all of a sudden, an 18-month-old baby fell from the balcony of a seventh floor apartment, bounced off of a cafe awning and landed in the arms of the doctor. I really love what the doctor was quoted as saying in the news article about the event: “My son saw a little boy on a balcony. He had gone right outside the railing… I said to myself I mustn’t miss him.” On top of that, it was a holiday and the cafe was closed, meaning that they’d normally have their awning retracted. But of course, the mechanism which retracts the awning was broken and hence, made a perfect landing spot for the extremely lucky baby.

Some photos of the week:

The Kiss - Via del Corso



Chocolate Dress - Salon du Chocolat



Giant Eclair - Salon du Chocolat



Mushroom in the Woods - Bois de Boulogne



Peacocks going to a restaurant - Bois de Boulogne

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by The Second Baseman on November 8, 2010 at 12:14 am

    Great photos…I almost eat the pasta right off of the screen…

    Reply

  2. Beautiful photos. I love Paris!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

