Shakira, Green Hornet, Light Festival, Eiffel and I glasses …

Shot a couple of entertainment events this week, one a bit more lively and entertaining than the other. Shakira put on a concert that was packed with people. I knew she was popular but I found out she was even more popular than I thought. And not just teenagers; there were some middle-aged folks there too.

Shakira in concert in Paris



The crew from the soon-to-be-released in the US film “The Green Hornet 3D” made an appearance in a small room at a fancy hotel near the Arc de Triomphe. Christoph Waltz, Seth Rogen and Cameron Diaz all showed up, smiled and had their photos taken by me and a some other photographers. Nothing special.

Christoph Waltz, Seth Rogen and Cameron Diaz at a photocall for the film "The Green Hornet 3D"



There is an event held each year at this time in the city of Lyon, France’s third biggest city located in the central-eastern part of the country, that I’ve been wanting to go see but never have. It the city’s “Festival of Lights” and it’s been going on in some form or another since 1643; but now it’s pretty high- tech. I still haven’t been down there for the Festival but CLICK HERE to see some pretty cool video of this year’s lights.

Speaking of lights, I went to an event at the Palais de Tokyo this week. It was the opening of some fairly ridiculous art exhibition but for me, the highlight was gaining access to a balcony which gave a direct view of the Eiffel Tower, all beautifully lit up like it is each night. Since I haven’t posted a photo of everyone’s favorite tower in a while, here’s a shot from the balcony:

Eiffel Tower from the Palais de Tokyo



And lastly, I had a “traumatic” event take place in my life this week. I got my first pair of eye glasses. After growing up with 20/8 vision and funding my education by winning various “seeing contests” with my friends, it seems now that “it would be helpful” for me to put these little glass ovals in front of my eyes when I’m on the computer or reading for extended periods. It’s going to take a while to get used to them. Clearly I’m in decline.

Some photos of the week:


Shakira in concert in Paris



Eiffel Tower from the Palais de Tokyo



Fotoautomat - Palais de Tokyo

Leave a Reply

