2010, Flood, BFFR & Menu Fetish …

2010 can suck it … glad to see it go.

All the snow that has been barraging Europe is finally melting and that means bad news for rivers that are downstream. The Seine overflowed its banks in certain parts and got to the point where they had to – heaven forbid – cancel the tourist boat cruises since the water was too high for the boats to pass under the bridges.

Joggers avoid the flood along the Seine


No real damage happened and it seems like things are returning to normal now. It was a little exciting watching the river rise. I admit I was secretly rooting for the water level to keep increasing, just to add a little more chaos to the city.

For those of you out there feeling a bit lonely, here’s the perfect solution for you: www.rentafriend.com . From their website, it works like this: RentAFriend.com is a website that allows you to rent local Friends from all over the world. You can rent a local Friend to hang out with, go to a movie or restaurant with, or someone to go with you to a party or event. Rent a friend to teach you a new skill or hobby, or to show you around an unfamiliar town.

I am available for rent in Paris. 😉

Those of you that know me know that I have a mini-obsession with typos on restaurant menus. I have the same instinct to find those typos as certain animals do to find their nest which is hidden hundreds of miles away. I can walk into a restaurant and find a typo before finding my table. So, over the years, I’ve taken images of my favorite typos from various menus around the world, from India to Slovenia to Japan to Morocco and across Europe. Who knew that the champion of all menus would be located 100 meters from my apartment here in Paris.

My nomination for menu of the decade



I’d never noticed it before because I’d never seen the English menu that they have. But the other night I got given the English menu and voila, it was like being handed the keys to the kingdom. I’m only including a photo of one page of the menu with only certain things underlined but rest assured there was poetry on each page, including their incomprehensible system of italics, indents, underlining, periods, font changes, etc. My favorite of course is “Let Us” instead of “Lettuce” and also the price of the “Cup of 3 scoops” = 9320 euros (not pictured). I am putting in a request to have this menu sent to the French National Archives.

Some photos of the week:

Flood and Notre Dame



Rising Seine along Ile Saint-Louis



Unfortunate Take-Out Restaurant Name (thankfully not Asian food!)



Sharp Dressed Man - rue de Rennes

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by The Second Baseman on April 11, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    Welcome back to the blog…The Superbowl Photos are awesome…All I can say about the new toilet toy is “piss on it”…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

