Alicia, Nut House, iPad and Fracking …

It was a needed slow week. Before my rant of last week, I shot Alicia Keys in concert at the Palais des Congres. The stage and lighting were really beautiful and this concert was just her playing the piano and singing.

Alicia Keys on the piano in Paris

Keys is talented and attractive but I really just don’t care. It’s the 3rd time I’ve shot her and whatever she gives off on stage just doesn’t resonate with me.

Stumbled upon a new store that opened about a month ago in Paris. It’s called La Pistacherie (67 rue Rambuteau, near the Centre Pompidou) and you can probably figure out what they sell there … nuts. All kinds of nuts, beautifully presented. Most of the nuts are kept in warmers so when you get them they’re crunchy and addictively tasty.

La Pistacherie

They even have some other specialty treats like Japanese mochi rice cakes filled with ice cream in all sorts of great flavors. Worth a trip if you’re in the area.

Feel free to skip this paragraph if technology bores you. I spent part of this week researching moving to the somewhat sharper edge (as opposed to the cutting edge) of my work. After a trip to the Apple Store and the purchase of a camera kit which allows me to directly transfer images from my camera to an iPad, I found an app called Filterstorm which is kind of like a combination of Photoshop (for editing images) and Photo Mechanic (for captioning images). After doing all sorts of trial and error testing, I managed to figure out how I can now take the iPad into the field with me on a shoot and file my images on location without having to lug around a computer. Granted this is only important on rare high-profile shoots but I imagine will come in handy from time to time. I have never seen any photographer filing images from the field with an iPad but I’m sure it’s happening somewhere out there. Let me know if you know of someone doing this.

Have any of you seen the movie “Gasland”? It’s an HBO documentary about natural gas exploration in the US and the consequences of it. I just recently watched it and was disgusted (but not surprised) by the degree to which this is happening in the US and how it all came about. The consequences of the process the big companies use to get to the gas underground, called Fracking (or hydraulic fracturing), is devastating to the environment. I recommend seeing the film if you haven’t already. It’s a little (intentionally?) amateurish in its production but its message is clear.

What made me write about this was this news item from last week:

France’s lower house, the National Assembly, approved a bill prohibiting the drilling of gas and oil through hydraulic fracturing (fracking) and to repeal hydraulic fracturing licenses granted to companies. The bill also requires license holders to submit a report within two months detailing the techniques used to mine for oil and gas.     Good for them!

Some photos of the week:

La Pistacherie

Only in France - Office of Fruits and Vegetables

24-Hour Pharmacy Vending Machine

American Sauce - maybe this is what we call Russian dressing?

Zero Emissions (borrowed from my colleague in London)

Leave a Reply

