Bank Champagne, Thomas Dutronc, Ice Skating, Chevy Volt, Jamiroquai and more …

Got an unexpected call from my banker last week, asking if I was busy on Thursday night. I couldn’t imagine why my banker was asking me this but after a few awkward moments of me being non-committal, he explained that the bank was inviting some of their clients that live in the neighborhood to the bank for some champagne and hors d’oeuvres. Must have been a good year for them; it certainly wasn’t thanks to me.

Champagne and Hors d'oeurves at the bank

I’m pretty sure the champagne I drank was more valuable than the interest they paid me this year. At least it was a nice gesture for the bank to bring the locals together, feed us and introduce themselves, without trying to sell us something. I’ve never gotten that kind of call from Citibank before.

For my birth anniversary, went to go see (not shoot) a concert of Thomas Dutronc at the Folies Bergere. It’s a beautiful old theatre and Dutronc put on an energetic and entertaining show. Here’s a song of his that I dig.

Folies Bergere before the start of Thomas Dutronc in concert

For those of you keeping score at home, Thomas Dutronc is the son of well-known French singer Jacques Dutronc but has carved out his own career doing gypsy jazz.

Shot a lot since my last blog post. In no particular order …

I enjoy shooting figure skating; the movements and the theatrics usually make for nice imagery … and this time was no exception. I shot the Trophée Eric Bompard, one of the International Grand Prix of Figure Skating events that brings together some of the top skaters in the world.

The skaters do some pretty extraordinary things on the ice, things we’d be hard pressed to do anywhere. Like this for example:

Don't try this

Headed back to the ambassador’s residence to shoot the arrival of the very first Chevy Volt in Europe. The ambassador’s fleet received two of the electric hybrid vehicles from the president of Chevrolet France. And the appetizers were delicious.

U.S. Ambassador Charles Rivkin and his new Chevy Volts

Chevrolet also parked some of their other car models – past and present – in the courtyard of the ambassador’s residence, just to show off a bit I think.

Chevys at the Ambassador's residence

Shot Jamiroquoi (remember him/them?) in concert, Audrey Tautou (of Amelie fame) pressing the button to turn on the holiday lights along the Champs-Elysees, Roman Polanski and Kate Winslet at the premiere of “Carnage”, Salma Hayek at the premiere of “Puss in Boots” and finally, Nicolas Sarkozy meeting with British Prime Minister David Cameron at the Elysee Palace to try to save Europe. Here’s proof:

Jamiroquai in concert

Audrey Tautou after pushing the button to light up the Champs-Elysees

Roman Polanski and Kate Winslet at the French premiere of "Carnage"

Salma Hayek - French premiere of "Puss in Boots"

Sarkozy and Cameron at the Elysee Palace

Now some things that caught my eye recently.

The city of Paris is planning to cover the Eiffel Tower with 600,000 plants. They are planning on spending €72 million on making the tower look like a giant tree, with baskets of shrubbery attached to it from top to bottom, plus an elaborate irrigation system. The aim is said to be to symbolize France’s desire to be seen as a leader in the field of eco-friendly living. The plants will only be temporary, from 2014 to 2016. Most importantly, the sparkling lights that turn on at the top of every hour won’t be affected. UPDATE: just after I wrote this the city of Paris released a statement saying they’ve never heard of such plans. Too bad, it would have been pretty cool.

Next time you’re in Zagreb, Croatia, check out this place: The Musuem of Broken Relationships. Must be interesting right? It’s on my list to check out someday. Read more about it HERE.

What the hell is THIS?

Got a nice surprise this week when a buddy of mine sent me a message of congratulations for having the cover of Point de Vue, a well-known French magazine. If it wasn’t for my buddies telling me when my photos were published, I’d probably never find out.

My photo of Princess Stephanie and her kids at the Monaco Royal Wedding

Some photos of the week(s?):

Italian Figure Skaters

This is not how he's supposed to pick her up is it?

Me shooting Jamiroquoi (thanks Pierre)

Dancers - Le CENTQUATRE Space for Artists

Written on my chopsticks cover

rue du Prevot

Leave a Reply

